Young Canadian Musician Connects with his Nigerian roots to realize his dream

By all definition Ndubuisi Okwumabua popularly known as Ndu meet the criteria for the tall dark and handsome guy with the “it “factor of being a singer/songwriter/music producer.

In 2007 I spoke with Ndu as an upcoming young rapper. He had big dreams to become an international performer. He worked hard to meet his goal in Canada and his work did not give him the payoff he expected.

At now 30 something ,single and no special romantic connection, Ndu has abandoned his materially comfortable existence in Fort Rouge and split his time between Delta State Nigeria –  the homeland his parents left behind for a better life – and Winnipeg to focus on his music. Ndu now lives comfortably among his people, the Emu Tribe on the banks of the Delta river to realize his dream.

Born and raised in Winnipeg, Ndu has the blessing of his family in the pursuit of his musical ambitions. 

Unlike the usual migration to Toronto, New York City or Hollywood, Ndu opted for Nollywood (the Nigerian version of Hollywood). Nollywood is the third largest movie capital in the world. Ndu is getting the opportunity to write background music for movies coming out of Nigeria.

“I feel at home here” he said with a peaceful resignation “I’m realizing my dream. That’s important to me.”

He admits that living in Nigeria is not the same as living in Canada – many Nigerians are trying to migrate to Canada seen as the land of opportunity but for Ndu does not see it the same way. 

Materially, Nigeria does not have the same accessible amenities that Canada boasts. Ndu said he can live with that. “A simple life can be a good life” he quips. “I am among my aunties, cousins and family friends. I’m okay. Luckily my parents used to bring me and my brother to visit Nigeria regularly since we were children, so I’m chill here.”

Ndu said his work is changing from…. to cater to the current state of the world.  He is writing about revolution and love with more Afro beats.

“I’ve written a lot during the pandemic and produced hundreds of songs for other artists and myself and background music for movies” he said adding “people are getting to know me around here. That feels hopeful.”

“I have a big interest in doing independent mix with afro beats.  I want to do it all – dance music sit down music and car listening music.”

Asked why he feels Nigeria is a better place to accomplish his dreams in music, Ndu responded that “artists need support in the beginning but there is not a lot of support for artist like me who is up and coming” he added “people who are seen as successful get more grants than those of us who are behind the curve. I do not think that is fair or right.”

Ndu shared that he did get a grant once “when I saw what they needed from me, the red tape and all, I returned it to the funder. I am using my own money to create my music right now. It is also more cost effective in Nigeria to make music.”

Currently he is working on putting a band together and have regular gigs at the Clubs

to work with the famous Nigerian producer Carlyle

Ndu said life is short and he wants to live well and to be at peace. “It is sometimes challenging living in Winnipeg, one of the most racist cities in Canada, you’re judged because of the colour of your skin. Nigeria has its own problems but I am accepted as a human being here and if you work hard you can own a few things.  In Canada you cannot own anything – everything you own can be taken away from you. You may think you own a house after paying for it for 25 years and if you do not pay your taxes it can be taken away from you. It’s not like that in Nigeria what you own belongs to you”.

“Life is good in Nigeria, not perfect but good. I am creating my music the way I want to. I would rather be free, be happy with myself and live longer, says the man on a mission to succeed.

Leave a comment